A 300-Hour Yoga Teacher Training & Mentorship Program created to give you a lifetime of inspired practices and the capacity to access your inner teacher & leader.

How would you feel if every time you stepped into the classroom to teach, you were fresh and present and deeply connected? How would your students feel?

How would you show up if your outer offering of teaching yoga was an embodied experience of your inner study and personal practice?

What if you could teach the yoga you love?

 

Teaching From The Heart was designed by Sam Breschi & Catherine Zack to uncover the answers to those questions and help yoga teachers take their teaching to the next level.

This program is offered with you, the teacher, in mind.

At the center of Teaching from the Heart is our opening module: The Daily Vinyasa, which will empower you with a plan for daily personal practice & self-study, an outline for your personal evolution, and new ways of approaching your yoga practice & teaching. It’s a simple starting premise, but not always easy to stay committed to: our most inspired and embodied teaching offering comes from our own personal daily practice. When your own practice is a place of ease & joy, it can also be a place of service for your teaching. The work begins here. Together, we’ll examine the roadblocks to daily practice, do a deep investigation of your current personal practice, and create clear pathways ahead toward your transformation. We’ll look at how the yoga we do on our mats plays a big role in how the “daily vinyasa” of our life and life’s work unfolds.

Our teaching philosophy is a beautiful marriage of both intellectual rigor and intuition. We’ll invite you to pour over source material — from yogic philosophical texts to the most cutting-edge research on the science of stress. And, at the same time, come into deep relationship with the wisdom of your own body, breath, and heart.

Curiosity, heart-felt inquiry, and lifelong studentship, rather than dogma or strict doctrine grounds our program and invites you to become the most authentic, impactful teacher & leader you can be.

This approach is clear in our explorations of individual topics — for example:

In The Anatomy & Physiology of Yoga, we study. In this practical & applied approach to anatomy, we look at bodies, assess shapes, and learn in-depth knowledge to gain functional understanding. This is the yoga anatomy lesson you can actually use to elevate your teaching. We’ll work through 40 essential yoga poses to gain an intimate understanding of the key muscle groups, major joints, structural integrity & how connective tissue works, and how to harness strength & access ease in each pose.

You’ll leave with an arsenal of practical tools to create immediate shifts in your students’ highly-individualized experience of yoga that will help them access freedom & presence in their bodies everyday.

In The Composition, we create. This is elevated sequencing for the everyday class experience. We consider how the daily rhythms & everyday moments of our lives inform what we teach. We respond to the natural rhythm of the world around & within us. Technique meets enlivenment & embodiment. We give shape & form to esoteric energetic concepts. We’ll deconstruct base sequences and examine the elements of seasonality, dosha, time, place, and rhythm to give you the skills to map a clear path to take your own embodied experience of yoga & share it with your students in class. The mat becomes not only our laboratory, but a microcosm for your life.

You’ll leave with a fresh way of sequencing goes beyond explicit planning, linear progressions, and dusty canons. Here, we open ourselves up for it & to it. Here, we command the content of our own personal & collective experiences to create classes that inspire.

In The Art of Touch, we connect. In this interactive module, we’ll work together with mindfulness towards today’s changing dynamic - we’ll look at the politics, ethics, and cultural conversations to facilitate a safe, consensual, and beneficial relationship with physical touch. There is no such thing as “one-size-fits” all in the realm of adjusting. We’ll explore how to read bodies and energetic output with our knowledge about the form and function of each posture and movement.

You’ll leave confident in your ability to give and receive hands-on assists and physical touch to transform your experience of the asana.

Teaching from the Heart is also a mentorship program. You’ll receive personal and individualized feedback & support to identify your obstacles, pain points, gaps in knowledge, and limitations to unlock your most potent teaching offering. And we invite you to take part in observing, assisting, and teaching opportunities within the context of our classes & workshops at Flow Yoga Center.

 

location

Flow Yoga Center, Washington DC

Investment

May 31, 2019

dates

Friday May 31, 8am-4:30pm
Saturday June 1, 11:30am-7:30pm
Sunday June 2, 10am-6:30pm
Sunday June 8, 10am-6:30pm

Friday July 12, 8am-5pm
Saturday July 13, 11am-7:30pm
Sunday July 14, 10am-6:30pm

Wednesday July 31, 8am-5pm
Thursday August 1, 8am-5pm
Friday August 2, 8am-5pm
Saturday August 3, 11am-7:30pm
Sunday August 4, 10:30am-3pm


Friday August 30
Saturday August 31
Sunday September 1
Monday September 2

Friday October 4
Saturday October 5
Sunday October 6

Sunday October 27

Saturday Nov 23
Sunday Nov 24

Friday Jan 3, 2020
Saturday Jan 4, 2020
Sunday Jan 5, 2020

Saturday Jan 18, 2020
Sunday Jan 19, 2020
Monday Jan 20, 2020

Friday Feb 7, 2020
Saturday Feb 8, 2020
Sunday Feb 9, 2020

Sunday Mar 1, 2020

Thursday April 2, 2020
Friday April 3, 2020
Saturday April 4, 2020
Sunday April 5, 2020

 

Teaching from the Heart is designed for teachers & those with a longtime practice of yoga -- we’re refining our craft, building beyond the basics, dedicated to using our own practice as a laboratory for our learning.

If you’re ready to feel completely connected to yourself, your own yoga practice, your teaching, your offering and confident in your creative experience and deep knowledge, join us.

We recommend that you’ve already participated in a 200-Hour Teacher Training Program (or equivalent experience actually teaching yoga) — but if you haven’t & you’re interested, let’s talk! Email thedailyvinyasa@gmail.com to connect.

Your commitment to the program and the process is essential and we're right here with you to support your evolution and growth.